The Daimajin (大魔神) , or "Great Demon God" is an enormous monster that appeared in the Daimajin trilogy released by Daiei.  All three of the original films were made in 1966, released only months apart throughout that entire year.  The plots are set in feudal Japan, and chronicles various struggles of Samurai, royalty, and peasants in an ancient landscape looked over by the wrathful god, Daimajin.  Without true corporeal form, Daimajin chooses an enormous stone statue of a warrior as his chosen avatar, in order to carry out his will in the land.  A television drama, Daimajin Kanon, was released in 2010, taking place in a more modern setting.

Film Trilogy

Daimajin (1966)
Return of Daimajin (1966)
Wrath of Daimajin (1966)

Television Drama

Daimajin Kanon (2010)

No comments:

Post a Comment